Tell us what you think about our site...

Who's Who in Planning Control and Conservation

Postal address:

Development and Conservation
North Hertfordshire District Council
PO Box 480
M33 0DE

General enquiries e-mail -

Telephone no: 01462 474000

Fax number - 01462 474558

The Development Control service, managed by Mary Caldwell, assesses planning and related applications submitted to the Council and is divided into two teams, East and West.

The East Team covers the towns of Letchworth Garden City, Baldock and Royston and the Parishes of Ashwell, Barkway, Barley, Bygrave, Caldecote, Clothall, Hinxworth, Kelshall, Newnham, Nuthampstead, Radwell, Reed, Rushden, Sandon, Therfield, Wallington, Weston.

The West Team covers Hitchin and the parishes of Codicote, Graveley, Hexton, Holwell, Ickleford, Kimpton, Kings Walden, Knebworth, Langley, Lilley, Offley (with Cockernhoe), Pirton, Preston, St Ippolyts, St Paul's Walden, Wymondley.

Conservation Section

The Conservation Section provides specialist advice on listed building and conservation area matters.

For further information contact the duty planning officer on 01462 474000 or e-mail

Planning Enforcement

For further information contact the Compliance Team on 01462 474000 or e-mail

The Technical Support Team, managed by Jenny Donovan provide support to Development & Building Control and Strategic Planning & Enterprise.