About the Council


North Hertfordshire District Council is comprised of 49 elected Councillors from 24 wards within the District. Councillors are elected by the community to represent the interests of local people, to ensure the Council fulfils its duties and takes collective decisions which form the policy of the Council.


The Council's Constitution sets out how the Council operates, how decisions are made and the procedures which are followed to ensure that these are efficient, transparent and accountable.


The Council has identified the following three priorities for 2016-21 onwards:

  • Attractive and Thriving
  • Prosper and Protect
  • Responsive and Efficient

The priorities have been set for at least a five year period with a review at the end of the five years, or sooner should external circumstances dictate.

Council departments

The Council is organised into six Service Directorates, each of which deliver a range of services. The directorates are:

  • Customers
  • Place
  • Resources
  • Regulatory
  • Commercial
  • Legal and Community

Working for Us

We often have job vacancies advertised through our website, check our jobs and careers pages for details of opportunities and find out more about the rewards and benefits on offer for working for us.

About North Hertfordshire

North Hertfordshire is a predominantly rural district and contains interesting market towns and numerous picturesque villages and hamlets. It is an attractive area in which to live and work, and has a wide variety of attractions.