Hearings Timetable

The hearing session will start on Monday 13 November 2017 at 9.30am and will be held at the Icknield Centre, Icknield Way, Letchworth Garden City, SG6 1EF.

All morning sessions following the opening on Monday 13 November will commence at 9.00am.

There is limited car parking at the Icknield Centre. Additional parking can be found at: Norton Common Outdoor Swimming Pool Car Park, Letchworth Garden City, SG6 4UF.

Participants can obtain an all day permit from the Programme Officers desk.

Please note there are no catering facilities at the venue.

Deadline for Hearing Statements covering the matters for discussion during weeks 5-6 of the hearing sessions: Friday 12 January 2018.

 

Hearings Timetable - Week 1 

Monday 13th November - Thursday 16th November

Week 1 Morning Session 9.30am Afternoon Session 2.00pm
Monday 13 November
  • Opening
  • Matter 1 - Legal requirements
  • Matter 2 - Sustainable development: the settlement hierarchy
  • Matter 2 - Sustainable development: the settlement hierarchy (cont)
Week 1 Morning Session 9.00am Afternoon Session 2.00pm
Tuesday 14 November
  • Matter 3 - The housing strategy: the need for housing and the housing requiremnt
  • Matter 3 - The housing strategy: the need for housing and the housing requirement (cont)
Wednesday 15 November
  • Matter 4 - The housing strategy: the supply of land for housing
  • Matter 4 - The housing strategy: the supply of land for housing (cont)
Thursday 16 November
  • Matter 6 - Deliverability
  • Matter 6 - Deliverability (cont)

Additional information requested by the Inspector during Week 1 of the hearing sessions 23.11.17 Version 3 (Updated 18.12.2017)  

 

Hearings Timetable - Week 2 

Monday 20th November - Thursday 23rd November

Week 2 Morning Session 9.00am Afternoon Session 2.00pm
Monday 20 November
  • Matter 7 – Countryside and Green Belt: the Green Belt review and the approach to safeguarded land
  • Matter 7 – Countryside and Green Belt: the Green Belt review and the approach to safeguarded land (cont)
Wednesday 22 November
  • Matter 8 – The housing strategy: affordable housing, housing mix and supported, sheltered and older persons housing
  • Matter 8 – The housing strategy: affordable housing, housing mix and supported, sheltered and older persons housing (cont)
Thursday 23
November
  • Matter 5 - Housing Strategy: the spatial distribution of new housing
  • Matter 9 - The basis for the housing allocations
  • Matter 9 – The basis for the housing allocations (cont)

Additional information requested by the Inspector during Week 2 of the hearing sessions 

Hearings Timetable - Week 3 

Monday 27th November - Thursday 30th November

Week 3 Morning Session 9.00am Afternoon Session 2.00pm
Monday 27
November
  • Matter 19 – The natural environment
  • Matter 20 – The historic environment

       Reserve

 

Wednesday 29
November
  • Matter 15 - Countryside and Green Belt: the policy approach to the Green Belt, Rural Areas beyond the Green belt and Urban Open Land
  • Matter 17 – Design (including air quality)
Thursday 30
November
  • Matter 16 – Transport and infrastruture
  • Reserve 

Additional information requested by the Inspector during Week 3 of the hearing sessions

Hearings Timetable - Week 4 

Tuesday 12th December - Wednesday 13th December

Week 4 Morning Session 9.00am Afternoon Session 2.00pm
Tuesday 12
December
  • Matter 13 – Economic development (B Class Uses)
  • Matter 13 – Economic development (B Class Uses) (cont)
Wednesday 13
December
  • Matter 14 – Town and Local Centres
  • Matter 14 – Town and Local Centres (cont)
  • Matter 18 – Healthy communities

Additional information requested by the Inspector during Week 4 of the hearing sessions

Hearings Timetable - Week 5

 Tuesday 23rd January - Thursday 25th January

Week 5 Morning Session 9.00am Afternoon Session 2.00pm

Tuesday 23 January

  • Matter 21 - Air Quality
  • Matter 21 - Air Quality
Wednesday 24 Janurary
  • Matter 7 - Countryside and Green Belt: the Green Belt Review and the approach to safeguarded land (continued)
  • Inspector's Matters & Issues: 7.2, 7.3 and 7.4
  •  Matter 7 - Countryside and Green Belt: the Green Belt Review and the approach to safeguarded land (continued)
  • Inspector's Matters & Issues: 7.2, 7.3 and 7.4

Thursday 25 January

  • Matter 6 - Deliverability (continued)
  • Inspector's Matters & Issues viability 6.3
  • Reserve

 

Hearings Timetable - Week 6

Monday 5th February - Thursday 8th February

Week 6 Morning Session 9.00am Afternoon Session 2.00pm
Monday 5 February
  • Matter 10 - Letchworth
  • Matter 10 - Letchworth (continued if necessary)
  • Matter 10 - Royston
Tuesday 6 February
  • Matter 10 - Baldock (including Bygrave)
  • Matter 10 - Hitchin
Wednesday 7 February
  • Matter 10 - Luton & Cockernhoe
  • Matter 10 - Luton & Cockernhoe (continued if necessary)
  • Matter 11 - Oaklands, Offley, Pirton, Preston
Thursday 8 February
  • Matter 11 - Ashwell, Barkway, Barley, Breachwood Green, Hexton, Kimpton
  • Matter 11 - Ashwell, Barkway, Barley, Breachwood Green, Hexton, Kimpton (continued if necessary)
  • Reserve

 

Hearings Timetable - Week 7 

Monday 26th February - Thursday 1st March

Week 6 Morning Session 9.00am Afternoon Session 2.00pm
Monday 26 February
  • Matter 10/11 - Stevenage (Great Ashby), Graveley (including North of Stevenage) and Knebworth
  • Matter 10/11 - Stevenage (Great Ashby), Graveley (including North of Steveange) and Knebworth
Tuesday 27 February
  • Matter 11 - Ickleford and Lower Stondon
  • Matter 11 – Little Wymondley, Codicote
Wednesday 28 February
  • Matter 11 - St. Ippolyts, Reed, Sandon, Therfield, Weston, Whitwell (St. Pauls Walden Parish)
  • Matter 11 - St. Ippolyts, Reed, Sandon, Therfield, Weston, Whitwell (St. Pauls Walden Parish) - (Continue if necessary)
  • Reserve
Thursday 1 March
  • Matter 12 - The Housing Strategy: provision for gypsies, travellers and travelling showpeople
  • Reserve

 

Hearings Timetable - Week 8 

Monday 19th March - Thursday 22nd March

Week 6 Morning Session 9.00am Afternoon Session 2.00pm
Monday 19 March
  • Reserve
  • Reserve
Tuesday 20 March
  • Reserve
  • Reserve
Wednesday 21 March
  • Reserve
  • Reserve
Thursday 22 March
  • Reserve