Skip to main content


Voting in the general election on 4 July

Someone voting at a ballot box

You’ve probably heard, a general election has been announced for Thursday 4 July.

You must be registered to vote and have appropriate photo ID to have your say on the Member of Parliament (MP) for your area. Following a parliamentary constituency boundary review, some changes have been made to the areas MPs cover. There are still three MPs which cover the district of North Herts:

  • North East Herts constituency (currently held by Oliver Heald)
  • Hitchin constituency (previously Hitchin and Harpenden and currently held by Bim Afolami)
  • Stevenage constituency (which includes Knebworth and Codicote and is currently held by Stephen McPartland)

There are various deadlines to take note of for this election:

You do not need to apply for photo ID if you already have an accepted form of ID which includes:

  • A permanent Voter Authority Certificate
  • UK, European Economic Area (EEA) or Commonwealth passport
  • UK, EEA or Commonwealth drivers’ licence (including a provisional drivers’ licence)
  • Blue Badge (disabled parking permit)
  • Older Person’s Bus Pass
  • Disabled Person’s Bus Pass
  • Oyster 60+ Card
  • Freedom Pass
  • Identity card bearing the Proof of Age Standards Scheme hologram (PASS card)

Please be aware, if you didn’t vote recently in the local elections, your polling station may have changed since the last time you voted due to a recent review of polling districts and places. Please make sure you check your poll card as this will detail your polling station for the general election.

More information: Elections & voting

Get the latest news by email

You can subscribe to get news and service updates by email. It's free, you can choose which topics you’re interested in and you can unsubscribe at any time.