Skip to main content

About the council


North Herts Council is normally comprised of 51 elected Councillors from 25 wards within the district. Councillors are elected by the community to represent the interests of local people, to ensure the council fulfils its duties and takes collective decisions which form the policy of the council.


The council's constitution sets out how it operates, how decisions are made and the procedures which are followed to ensure that these are efficient, transparent and accountable.


The council has identified the following priorities for 2022-27:

  • people first
  • sustainability
  • a brighter future together

The Council Plan sets out our key priorities and themes for the next five years.

Council departments

The council is organised into six service directorates, each of which deliver a range of services.

Working for us

We often have job vacancies advertised through our website, check our jobs and careers pages for details of opportunities and find out more about the rewards and benefits on offer for working for us.

Contact us

We're here to help you. You can contact us online, on the phone or in person.

About North Hertfordshire

North Hertfordshire is a predominantly rural district and contains interesting market towns and numerous picturesque villages and hamlets. It is an attractive area in which to live and work and has a wide variety of attractions.