Skip to main content

Polling District Review

Review of Polling Districts, Polling Places and Polling Stations

The district of North Hertfordshire is divided by the Council into polling districts, with polling places designated for each district.

We have a duty to review these arrangements for UK parliamentary constituencies that are within our district every 5 years.

The aim of each review is to assess the suitability of the current station configuration and how this suits the needs of voters, taking into consideration issues around access to polling stations, polling district boundaries and the location of polling stations.

We want to ensure electors have reasonable facilities for voting as are practicable in the circumstances, taking into consideration:

  • existing polling arrangements and suggested alternatives; and
  • accessibility of polling places, particularly for disabled residents. 

The changes to ward boundaries and the numbers of councillors per ward in North Herts have been considered as part of the Review.

2023 Review and consultation

The consultation for the most recent review concluded on 30 October 2023. Representations were considered by the Council at its meeting on 23 November 2023. You can see the full responses attached as Appendix B1, B2 and C of Agenda item 9.

The report presented to Council includes the final proposals and representations received.

Definitions used in a Polling Place Review

Polling District - the geographical area created by sub-dividing an electoral area. All wards within North Hertfordshire are divided into polling districts, which form the basis upon which the register of electors is produced. Unless there are special circumstances each parish must be in a separate polling district.

Polling Place - the designated area in which a polling station is located, such as a particular building.

Polling Station - the room or area within the polling place where the process of voting takes place, e.g. a room within a community centre or school.

During a review we do not consider ward boundaries, divisions or parliamentary constituencies.